Laws

Parental Consent

Legal age is 18 for both persons. If age 16 or 17, written and notarized consent signed by both parents, parent having legal custody, or legal guardian is required. A Judicial Court Order from the court of jurisdiction is required of anyone under the age of 16. 

Identification

One of the following valid (not expired), legal identification for proof of age is required.  Please note the name on the marriage license will appear exactly as ti is on the ID you provide.  

  • Driver’s License
  • Birth Certificate (original or certified copy accompanied by a certified translation if in a foreign language)
  •  Military ID
  • Passport
  • State issued identification

Required Information

  • Divorce information (date, place, and court where granted)
  • Parents names and current address
  • Place of Birth (City and State)
  • Social Security number

Social Security Number

Per Colorado Revised Statute 14-14-113, Social Security numbers are required on the marriage license application. If an applicant does not have a Social Security number, an affidavit provided by the clerk’s office must be signed.

Both persons should be present to apply. If this is not possible, one party must appear with a completed and notarized absentee affidavit as well as approved original identification for the absent party. Applicants for a marriage license need not be Colorado residents.

Apply in Person

Marriage Solemnization

Per C.R.S. 14-2-109, Marriages may ONLY be solemnized by:

  • Judges, Retired Judges, Magistrates, Public Officials authorized to perform marriages (Civil).
  • Clergy – They must be ordained/recognized to lawfully perform marriages (Religious)
  • Indian Tribe Official (Religious)
  • The Couple Themselves (Self)

Only those listed above are authorized to sign the marriage certificate as the officiant.  A friend or relative may not solemnize the marriage unless they are authorized to perform marriages.  Please note, “officiant” is not a title.  If there is no identifiable title (Pastor, Minister, Judge, Magistrate, etc.) it will be considered a self-solemnization.

The marriage certificate must also include the County, date and location where the marriage took place AND both party’s signatures as they appear on the license (witnesses are not required).  The completed marriage certificate must be forwarded to the Jefferson County clerk’s office within 63 days after the marriage; failure to comply may result in late fees.

Prohibitions

  • Brother and sister, uncle and niece, or aunt and nephew, whether by half or whole blood.
  • One of the parties is still married to another person.

Marriage Application Copy Request Form

Pursuant to CRS 24 72, 204(3)(a)(XIX)(A), copies of marriage applications are to be made available only to the bride or groom or an immediate family member. To obtain a certified copy of a marriage application, please complete the form and have notarized. Fee is $2.25 per copy.

Marriage License Copy Request

Marriage licenses can be purchased for $30 (cash or check only) and may be used immediately within the state of Colorado.  The license, available at most county clerk office, is valid for 35 days from the issue date.  Marriage licenses are recorded at the main office for your county only.  If you need to immediately record your marriage license and/or purchase certified copies, please visit your county clerks main office. 

Marriage License Locations

For faster service, complete your application online before appearing at your counties main office.  Please review the requirements before applying online.  The application is available in English or Spanish.

Copies of marriage licenses are $0.25, or $1.25 for a certified copy. A postage paid, self-addressed envelope is required with the order.

A few options for the marriage license:

Adams County Clerk
Clerk and Recorder | Adams County Government
4430 S Adams County Pkwy
Brighton CO 80601

Arapahoe County Clerk
Clerk and Recorder | Arapahoe County, CO – Official Website
5334 S Prince St
Littleton CO 80120

Boulder County Clerk
Clerk & Recorder Divisions – Boulder County
1750 33rd St
Boulder CO 80301

Denver County Clerk
Office of the Clerk and Recorder
201 W Colfax Ave
Denver, Co 80202

Jefferson County Clerk
Clerk & Recorder | Jefferson County, CO
100 Jefferson County Pkwy #2560
Golden Co. 80401

Larimer County Clerk
Clerk and Recorder | Larimer County
200 W Oak St #1000
Fort Collins, CO. 80521